06
Apr
08

Bruised

Acts 2:25-26For David said of him, I saw the Lord before my face at all times, for he is at my right hand, so that I may not be moved:  And for this cause my heart was glad and my tongue full of joy, and my flesh will be resting in hope:  
     Do you ever feel like your flesh needs rest?  Man, the older my body gets the more I realize that I can’t do some of the things I used to.  Sometimes I physically feel 50 years old (not that that’s bad for you over 50).  I took a group to play Paintball yesterday in Memphis, and man has my game changed since I was in high school. The last few games of the day I almost felt as if I had some sort of handicap, and now with close to 10 red whelps and purple bruises spread across my frame I realize I was more exposed and vulnerable than I thought.  This happens to us so many times in our lives.  We face things that we would prefer to avoid- job losses, illnesses, financial strains, etc…  We all become vulnerable at times.  We may use the terms setbacks, crises, roadblocks, or even tragedies; but, none of these are terms that we are fond of.  That fourth paintball game yesterday when I thought I was on top of the world was when it all started going downhill. I was laying down cleaning the mud off my mask when I was shot four times at POINT blank range.  I never saw it coming…..
     This is how our enemy works.  He waits till we are at our lowest point, till our backs are turned, then he moves in for the kill.  And before you know it we are hurting, wishing that we could rewind time, wishing that we could have a do-over, but its to late.  All we can do now is either die or heal.  
     What has bruised you today?  Let God heal you.  David said in verse 25 that Jesus was at his right hand so that he might not be moved.  Give up- surrender- Let God fight for you.  
1 Response to “Bruised”


  1. 1 Steve Schieferstein
    April 7, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    How do you like it huh. Hee Hee Hee


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

