25
Apr
08

Just RUN!!!!!!

Blessed is the man who perseveres. James 1:12

     Can you say that you are one that preservers?  What do, or what have you done when life gets tough?  Do you find comfort in sitting still? or do you push through the pain and keep the goal in sight?  I am in dire need to lose at least 20 lbs.  So I have been on a low-carb diet for almost three weeks.  It was a beautiful day yesterday, so I got out and cut the grass and decided to run about 2 miles.  So I started.  After I finished the first mile, the half way point, I wanted to sit down and rest.  I told my self that if I can just push myself i’ll be through in a few minutes.  I thought to myself, “self, you can sit down and rest or you can burn more calories by keeping your heart rate up by pushing through the pain and fatigue and finishing the race.”  I saw my soft den floor with air-conditioning and water.  I kept that vision in mind.  Probably the last 100 yards, I ran as hard as I could because the end was in sight. Man did it feel great to lay down and breathe that cold air and sweat all over that soft carpet.  God has given all of us goals.  They may be short-term, long-term, or life long goals.  There are so many things that can get in the way of our God-Given Goals.  Here are a few of them.   

     (1) Weariness. Jesus told Peter, “Satan has asked for you, that he may sift you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, that your faith should not fail” (Luke 22:31-32). We all have to overcome the failing faith syndrome.  I have to pray daily sometimes that God would strengthen my faith, and help me when I’m weary.

(2) Fear. Some days the run just seems too hard, the mountain seems too high, and we’re tempted to give up. Then were reminded, “Have not I commanded you? Be strong and courageous… for the Lord your God will be with you” (Joshua 1:9 NIV).

(3) Comfort. “Woe to you who are at ease [become complacent] in Zion ” (Amos 6:1). Conflict and hard times keep us on our toes – and on our knees. But too much comfort can seduce us into settling short of our goal. I heard a preacher say that when you get comfortable in Ministry that is when you start thinking that you can do it on your own.  I;m reminded daily that I CAN’T do this on my own.

What’s in your way today?  Give it up to God, Give it all to God.  Let him have control of your yoke.  Let Him carry it.

 Love you all!!!   Micah

 

2 Responses to “Just RUN!!!!!!”


  1. April 27, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Hey Micah,

    You don’t know me. My dad is B.J. Phillips and he thought I should check out your blogs. I’m so glad I did! Like you I love James and James 4:7-10 is one of my favorite verses of scripture. Anyway I just wanted to introduce myself and let you know I would be praying for you & your family in your position there at Second Baptist! Also I wanted to make available to you (our) God’s ministry. I’m a member & lead singer of 7th Seal (Christian Music Ministry). If there’s anything we can do to help you please don’t hesitate to ask. You can check out our myspace if you like and also we’ll be playing @ Higher Ground on May 10th. We’d love to see you & Brandi there! We’ll pray that you persevere in the goals God has set before you!

    In Christ
    Kyle Phillips

  2. 2 Mom
    April 29, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Good for you keeping you commitment to loose weight. Of course, your devotional thoughts are a true blessing to me and your Dad. Lots of Love


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

