02
May
08

What Is Worship??? Day 2

I hope you are having a GREAT day!!! I’m sitting in a Taco Bell on Elvis Presley Blvd. in Memphis, Tn.  I am waiting for Brandi’s plane to get here at about 5:00, she was supposed to be here at about 10:50, but had to tale a later flight.  That’s Flying in Corporate America. I’m really wishing that I could eat a few soft tacos, but they are not on my low-carb menu. 

Yesterday we discussed a little bit about the meanings of Worship.  Today we are going to discuss the first place that worship happens.  Psalm 40:10b David writes, “I have told everyone in the great assembly of Your unfailing love and faithfulness.“.   I believe, the “great assembly” that David is talking about here is corporate WORSHIP.  When we get together to worship God whether there is 3 people or 3,000 it could be considered a great assembly.  People gathered for the sole purpose of worshiping God.  That being said, my first point is

1.     Worship happens in Community.

I won’t argue with anyone that says that we can’t worship alone, because some of the best experiences I’ve had it was just me and God.  Although we can worship alone, God tells, commands us, to worship together (corporately).  If He did not want us to go to church then why would He have SOOO many guidelines for the church, and how it is to function.  Why would He give guidelines/qualifications for pastors, deacons, and believers, period (ICor12-14, ITim3, Acts).  If going to church was not so important then why is the word ”church” used 111 times in the New Testament?  Hebrews 10:25 says “let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one other- and all the more as you see the day approaching”.   

The truth is that I don’t really know why God loves for us to worship corporately, but He just does.  It is one of His love languages.  I know this fact, when we were growing up Mom and Dad usually rewarded Jared, Seth and I when we got along.  It pleased their hearts to see us, their children, getting along.  They loved to see us share with each other, hug each other, encourage each other, and pick each other up when we fell down.  Don’t you think that God is the same way with His children? Absolutely!!! He wants us to depend on Him, but he wants us to be there for each other.   This is what corporate worship is about.  

What if you were at the airport, surrounded by a huge crown of people and one person shouted out to you, “I LOVE YOU”?  You would probably be flattered, but what if everyone in the crowd started shouting to you about how great you are, how you’ve been so good to them, and how much they love you.  Then you would be pleased.  As a human,  it may not make sense, because we are not perfect.  But to a Perfect God, the bible says that our praises are like a “sweet fragrance” to Him.  He deserves our worship as a community. 

Have you been faithful in worshiping God corporately? 

Pray today that He will see you sharing with others, picking them up, encouraging them.  It’s then when you will get a better grasp of what Worship is all about.  

1 Response to “What Is Worship??? Day 2”


  1. 1 Joseph Brasher
    May 2, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    This is pretty cool! Great discussion on worship. I am a worship freak!1 I love it, I guess I love praising God, but I love thoe whole worship experience that each exist each day. Great point on getting our desires out of the way of true worship. Brit and I, we love to hear our favorite songs, but really when we think about it, we should worship God in all the songs we hear but even beyond that what we do and say, how I treat her, how she treats me(she beats me down every night) just kidding. You did a great job leading the other day. I still think that we have those in our church that are so prideful that they have never experienced true worship, and I don’t want my actions of worship to ever be a distraction to another person, but man when you are singing about how gret God is, how can you not stand and sing!

    Well I’m blabbering way too much as well. But I like this. I have thoughts on worship I would love to share as well. I am planning on doing a month full of worship in Sunday School and I will let you know about that.

    Have fun picking her up at the airport!


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

