13
Jun
08

Terminal…

     According to the American Cancer Society (ACS) there will be 1,437,180 new cases of cancer found this year.  Thats only in the United States.  That’s a little over 3948 people a day diagnosed with cancer.  Of those 1.4 million people that will be diagnosed this year it is estimated that 565,650 of those people will die (cancer.org). That’s almost 40%. Cancer is just one illness that I can think of that can be terminal.  There are many other illnesses that will eventually lead to death.

One of my favorite Psalms is Psalm 84 it says this…   

1 How lovely is your dwelling place,  O LORD Almighty!

 2 My soul yearns, even faints, 
       for the courts of the LORD; 
       my heart and my flesh cry out 
       for the living God.

 3 Even the sparrow has found a home, 
       and the swallow a nest for herself, 
       where she may have her young— 
       a place near your altar, 
       O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.

 4 Blessed are those who dwell in your house; 
       they are ever praising you. 

Skip down to verse10

10 Better is one day in your courts 
       than a thousand elsewhere; 
       I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God 
       than dwell in the tents of the wicked.

The Message version says this (I Would rather scrub floors in the house of my God than be honored as a guest in the palace of sin.)

 11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield; 
       the LORD bestows favor and honor; 
       no good thing does he withhold 
       from those whose walk is blameless.

 12 O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you. 

The truth is we are all terminal, tomorrow is not promised to anyone.  Every day is a gift from God.  Can you truly say I Would rather scrub floors in the house of my God than be honored as a guest in the palace of sin?  Are you living for Him?  Do you yearn to spend time with God, the truth is that sometimes I don’t.  But as Christians, we are to yearn for God like we do for food or water or air.  Do you realize that you are terminal? Do you realize that at any moment you could be in eternity?  How could that change the way you live, or your outlook on life? 

Hope this has made you think…  Love you all!!!!!

In Christ, Micah

1 Response to “Terminal…”


  1. 1 Mom
    June 13, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Micah, God used this blog to remind me He loves me and is in control. What you said is great but it is amazing how God chooses unexpected times to remind us he knows exactly what’s going on in my life. You know God usually reminds me He loves me by showing me the verse Psalm 84:11.
    When I read it in your blog, I knew you probably didn’t know that this verse was a very special one to me. Life IS very short compared to eternity. My faith is strengthened!!! PTL!!
    Love you lots,
    Mom


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

