26
Jun
08

Yearn

One of my favorite Shane and Shane songs is titled “Yearn”.  The Lyrics are as follows,

“Holy design, this place in time, that I might seek and find my God, my God.  

Lord I want to yearn for You, I want to burn with passion over You and only You. (2x’s)

Your joy is mine. Yet why am I fine with all my singing and bringing grain in light of Him? 

Lord I want to yearn for You, I want to burn with passion over You and only You. (2x’s)

Oh, You give life and breath.  In You we live and move.  That’s why I sing:  Lord I want to yearn for You,

I want to burn with passion over You and only You. (2x’s)

Lord I want to yearn.”

 

     Did you know that in the biblical days the Israelites were required at harvest time to bring a portion of their first fruits to the temple.  It was not just their fruit it was any way they made their income, anything that they could give up to completely devote themselves to the Lord.  Other than fruit they also brought new wine (less than 7 days old), olive oil, honey, cattle, sheep, and goats.  The people were not afraid to give back to the Lord.  In 2 Chronicles 31:6 It says that “…they piled them up in great heaps. 7 They began piling them up in late spring, and the heaps continued to grow until early autumn.”  So for months they brought sacrifices to God.  Verse 2 of this song says, “Your joy is mine. Yet why am I fine with all my singing and bringing grain in light of Him?”  Sometimes we are ok with the little that we have to bring to God, we think if we sing a little bit in the worship service and boastfully give of a tithe “10%” then we are fine.  I don’t know about you, but I’m not satisfied with that, I’m not satisfied with just getting by!!!  God deserves SO much more than that, He deserves SO much more than we are giving.  He gave EVERYTHING FOR US.  He desires for us to YEARN for Him, to burn with passion for His presence in our lives, in our hearts.  

  So that is my prayer tonight, Lord I want to Yearn for You!!!  With every breath that I take, with every waking second I’m alive I want burn with passion over You, and only You!!!  Amen

What are you passionate about?  What do you yearn for? 

1 Response to “Yearn”


  1. 1 Mom
    June 27, 2008 at 10:05 am

    OH YES!!! LET ME YEARN WITH PASSION FOR MY LORD. The joy of my life is to be in God’s presence and to be spiritually encouraged by the spiritual message that God gives my son (sons).
    I love you and I’m praying.
    Mama


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

