20
Nov
08

Roadsigns to Finding God’s Will– Sign 6

The Fifth Roadsign is using Common Sense.

I believe that God has given us minds that are capable of making rationial decisions.  By using all the other Road-signs that God has provided for us it takes common sense to know what’s right, and do it.  Sometimes we are so stubborn that we still choose to make deals with God and continue to look for “Signs” or conformation of God’s will.  I know that sometimes I can see HUGE green signs ovet the interstate and still question whether they are right or not;  as if, whoever put up the sign made a mistake and I’m the only genious that was intelligent to catch it. Yeah Right!!!! Why do we still question God when we know His will, because we are human.

I know this may sound confusing, but even though our common sense along with the other roadsigns points us to God’s will sometimes His will for us does not make sense.  Think about God wanting Abraham to sacrifice his only son Isaac, think about Noah building an ark when none of those people had ever seen rain or a boat.

So sometimes we have to just say OK God, I know that this is what You want me to do, this is what the Road-Signs are pointing to.  It may not make sense, but that is where FAITH comes from.

These are some verses from the Message Version:

Proverbs 2:6
And here’s why: God gives out Wisdom free, is plainspoken in Knowledge and Understanding. He’s a rich mine of Common Sense for those who live well, a personal bodyguard to the candid and sincere. He keeps his eye on all who live honestly, and pays special attention to his loyally committed ones.

Proverbs 3:21
[ Never Walk Away ] Dear friend, guard Clear Thinking and Common Sense with your life; don’t for a minute lose sight of them. They’ll keep your soul alive and well, they’ll keep you fit and attractive. You’ll travel safely, you’ll neither tire nor trip. You’ll take afternoon naps without a worry, you’ll enjoy a good night’s sleep. No need to panic over alarms or surprises, or predictions that doomsday’s just around the corner, Because God will be right there with you; he’ll keep you safe and sound.

Proverbs 13:16
A common sense person lives good sense; fools litter the country with silliness.

(NIV)Proverbs 119:

65 Do good to your servant
according to your word, O LORD.

66 Teach me knowledge and good judgment (Common Sense),
for I believe in your commands.

67 Before I was afflicted I went astray,
but now I obey your word.

Just use the signs that God Has given you and use your “noggin” common sense.   DUH!!!!!

Micah

4 Responses to “Roadsigns to Finding God’s Will– Sign 6”


  1. 1 Mom
    November 24, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I know it’s not common sense to travel almost 30 miles to a job when I am working hardly 5 miles from my house. But I will be making twice the money at a teacher’s job instead of an aides position. If God doesn’t close the door to the teaching job and opens the door for me to teach 1st grade, do you think it is common sense to say yes or am I making a dicision based on
    what I want? Sometimes common sense is hard to difine!
    What do you think son?
    Love ya,
    Mom

  2. 2 Mom
    November 24, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Sorry, I mispelled “define.” But, you know what I mean.

  3. 3 Mom
    November 24, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    I know it’s not common sense to travel almost 30 miles to a job when I am working hardly 5 miles from my house. But I will be making twice the money at a teacher’s job instead of an aides position. If God doesn’t close the door to the teaching job and opens the door for me to teach 1st grade, do you think it is common sense to say yes or am I making a dicision based on
    what I want? Sometimes common sense is hard to define!
    What do you think son?
    Love ya,
    Mom

  4. March 14, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    hi Micah..i read through your blogs on God’s will. its been a while since i visited your site..i noticed that number seven was to be announced. something that Ben and I have been using lately as direction to finding God’s will has been asking a question before we make any major decision and that question is “WHAT GIVES GOD THE MOST GLORY?” (not me, not my what makes me happy or look good, but what will put the gospel on display and make others look at what Christ did and is doing?
    Ben and I recently have gone through a serious time of seeking God’s will. He just resigned his position at the church and we are trusting God to provide through Ben’s web design and photography work. MANY people thought we were crazy (except that mature council you spoke of) but realize that this a way of putting trust on God into action, of showing others HE is worthy of our trust as they watch as Christ faithfully, abundantly supplies..
    Just at thought..


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

